Craft Goals for 2024

Hello lovely readers, and welcome back!! I know that February is already almost over and that it might be kinda late to do a post on 2024 goals . . . but I really wanted to do this post and didn’t get a chance sooner. So I hope you will still enjoy!

I’ve noticed for the past couple of years now that, without realizing it, I decide on what craft techniques I’d like try or projects to get to for that year. So I decided to make this a yearly thing! And this year, I specifically thought about what I’d like to try in 2024. A couple of years ago I wanted to try my hand at making wax seals. Last year, my goal was to try out weaving, specifically making woven wall hangings. This year, I’ve compiled a short mini list to keep track of what I’d like to try out. It will be kinda like an accountability thing, and at the end of the year, I’ll look back at this post to see what I accomplished. Sound good?😜 Some of the items on this list were goals for previous years, but I never got around to them. So I’m adding them to 2024’s list! Read on, my friend, to find out what my craft goals are . . . .

#1: Try out macrame

Macrame looks so pretty, and there are several macrame projects I’ve seen that I’d really like to do! I’ve been meaning to learn how to macrame for a long time now, so hopefully this will be the year I finally try it out!

#2: Learn how to spin wool into yarn

Why do I want to do this when I can just buy yarn at the store? Because it seems like it will be a lot of fun!! *gets excited* XD If I enjoy it, then one day I’d like to either grow cotton or partner with my sister to raise sheepβ€”since she really likes sheepβ€”(I haven’t decided which way I’ll go yet), dye it myself, and then spin it into yarn and sell for a side business. It’s a bit ambitious, lol. Oh, did I mention we have an big antique spinning wheel I’d like to learn how to fix up and make usable again? My dad bought it a long time ago at some antique place, and now my sister, Issabelle, and I are arguing over who will get to keep it one day. Our best compromise as of now is that one girl will get to have it for half of the year and the other girl the other half. XD (Sisters sure don’t let your life get boring.πŸ˜‚) Anyways, I realize I’m rambling on over my yarn dream . . . NEXT GOAL!

#3: Learn how to use a sewing machine and get better with sewing

I can sew by hand, but I’d really like to be able to use a machine. So this year, it is my goal to sit down and finally learn how to use a sewing machine. I’ll probably start off making small projects with itβ€”maybe some doll clothes. If they turn out well, I’ll probably try to sell them afterwards. But yeah, the main goal is to learn how to use a machine.

#4: Paint and fix up a wooden cabinet

Okay, so this isn’t a new crafting technique for me (because I have painted wood before), but I’ve never revamped a piece of furniture. So this is a new endeavor, and I’m excited to try it out! I want to paint it and give it new knobs too! I’m also planning on posting about it here on the blog, so if I actually get to do it this year, you’ll get to hear about! πŸ˜‰

#5: DIYing my own ugly Christmas sweater

I think this would be fun, and I’d like to do it as a blog post come December. I had actually planned to do this project this past December but was too busy to get around to it. Hopefully this year though! I don’t have plans on what it will look like yet. I figured I’ll just buy a sweater that I’m okay to mess up and then go with the flow and see what happens. Its spontaneous crafting like this that make crafting so much fun!

#6: Try my hand at clay craft projects

Throughout last year, I began to think using clay in crafting might be more fun that I used to think it would. So this year, I’m hoping to try it out. I don’t know what I’ll make yet, but I guess I’ll figure it out when I actually take the time for it.

#7: Make a book nook

I’ve seen these on Pinterest, and they look so cute! I would like to try to make my own at some point. Will I get around to it this year? Not as likely because it seems time consuming, and I often like to do quick projects. XD But I’m putting it on the list anyway because who knows. I’m unpredictable, so I might surprise myself and actually give it a try this year.

#8: More DIY, more weaving practice, more painting/drawing practice, and more writing

These are my other creative goals for the year, including starting that Redbubble shop I talked about last year. I want to improve on my drawing and painting skills and practice weaving more. And of course, I often diy something on the spur of the moment, so I’m sure there will be more than I listed above that I will be making this year. As for writing, I definitely plan on finishing the book I’m currently working on (aka the Cinderella reimagining). It’s been one of my top priorities, and I’m happy to say that I’m over halfway done with the first draft! Here’s to hoping that I continue making good progress!

Have you tried anything on my list before? Do you have any crafting goals (or any goals for that matter) for 2024? What would you like to see from the blog? Thank you so much for reading!

God bless!

~Katherine Perry

14 responses to “Craft Goals for 2024”

  1. Okay, I was definitely underestimating you when you said you β€œdid crafts.” That’s a ton of different mediums, girl! πŸ˜΅β€πŸ’« Cheering you on! You’ve also added to my bucket list of things I want to do when school isn’t consuming me whole, so that’s fun. πŸ€— More than 50% through with that Cinderella reimagining, I hear? πŸ‘€ Congrats!! I can’t wait to hear more about that. πŸ’«

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, yeah, I like to try a variety of new things when it comes to crafting.πŸ˜„ I get bored with one thing easily, so I often spend my free time changing around what I’m doing. One month I might do one type of thing and another month do something completely different. XD
      Thank you!! Yay!!! I’m so glad I was able to add to your bucket list!! What are some things on your list?
      Aw, thank you so much!!!!!πŸ€— I’m excited to share more about it soon!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Man, to be able to jump from one project to another and work with varying tools is still so cool. 🀩
        Hm, well, my bucket list is a vague list of topic wordsβ€”like, there’s something about dinosaurs, but that could range from sketching a semi-realistic version of it on paper to excavating it bones XDβ€”but now, I’m curious about sewing machines and painting watercolor, thanks to this post, and have the urge to make or get a book nook for myself when I’m older. And your mentioning the Cinderella retelling reminded me of my own retelling of sorts, which I totally wasn’t selectively ignoring. Nope. Lol
        Yay, I can’t wait! 😁✨

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Aw, thank you!😊
          Ooh, I love the idea of having topic words on a bucket list!! Doing it like that sounds like it adds a ton of possibilities! πŸ˜€ It sounds like you have a fun and exciting list!!! I hope you are able to accomplish your items on the list! I’m so glad my post was able to inspire you to add sewing machines and watercolor. Yay, I hope you get to make a book nook one day! Haha, I’m glad it reminded you of your retelling. I’m excited for it, so I don’t want you to ignore it.πŸ˜‰ I’m cheering you on, girl!!
          Yay!! <33

          Liked by 1 person

  2. These projects sound SO FUN!! *gasps* You have an antique spinning wheel? Ahhh that is the coolest thing ever! 🀩 And girl, I am with you on learning to use a sewing machine. πŸ˜‚ I once started a beginner’s course but never kept up practice…so now I’ve basically forgotten everything I learned. *facepalm* lol Hopefully this shall be the year! πŸ™Œ 😜

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yay, I’m glad you think so!!
      Eee, yes!! I’m so glad my dad found the spinning wheel and bought it! My mom has thought about getting rid of it because it takes up a lot of space, but Issabelle and I won’t let her, lol. Issabelle’s and my inventory stuff for our antique booth is blocking it right now, but when I get the chance to take a picture of the spinning wheel, I’ll show it to you.
      Wow, that’s so cool you started a beginner’s course on sewing once!! Yes, girl, we should both definitely learn to use a sewing machine this year!πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. You know, you could just make it easy and let me have the spinning wheel. . . 🀣

    This was a fun post, Kat! One of the more interesting ones I saw in my inbox! I’d like to learn macrame too so I hope you figure it out so you can show me. AND A BOOK NOOK SOUNDS SIMPLY WONDEROUS!!!!! And I know you’ll totally finish your book this year. YOU’VE GOT THIS.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, that’s not gonna happen.πŸ˜†

      Thank you, Is! Aw, you’re so sweet!<3 I'm happy you liked it! That's awesome!! I didn't know you also wanted to learn macrame. We'll have to learn together! πŸ˜‰ ACK, THANKS, GIRL!!!!! You should make one as well! It might be fun! Aww, girl, thank you so much for your encouraging words!!! *hugs*

      Like

  4. Saraina Whitney Avatar
    Saraina Whitney

    Aww, yes! ❀ Ooh, that would be so cool if you showed pictures! 😍

    WE SHOULD! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ❀❀❀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. These are great goals! I hope you get to complete all of them. (and share your results with us! I’m interested to see what these crafts look like!)
    My only craft goal for the year is to finish crocheting the Winnie-the-Pooh characters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw, thank you, Diamond! (Okay, I’ll definitely share about them then!) That’s an awesome goal! I hope you finish them! And if you do, you’ll have to show me pictures.πŸ˜‰ I’d love to see them!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Teen Writers' Nook Avatar
    Teen Writers’ Nook

    Macrame is something I used to do when I was younger. I would love to start doing it again. I see so many beautiful ideas I want to try with it. Thanks for sharing awesome ‘crafting’ ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, that is so cool!! Yes, you should!! We should even start macrameing (if that’s even a word, haha) together! Aw, of course; you’re so welcome!! I hope you found some inspiration for craft projects to try this summer!

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started